Like Reading A Novel and Scouring An Eccentric Ancestor’s Scrapbook

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar ChildrenMiss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs is a quirky combination of reading a novel and scouring an eccentric ancestor’s scrapbook. So inventive, I wish I would have thunk it first. Yet I didn’t and I never would have been able to weave in such an eerie touching tale, which jumps between modern-day and WWII.

I chose it from the library for the cover alone. Who was this young waif and why was she hovering above the ground? Reading along and referencing the photos, it reminded me of a chapter book for the senior set. Why don’t all books have illustrations, photos and references? Now I’m craving the extra sensory details.

Leave a comment

Filed under Days 61-90

Leave a Reply

